Vienna 

Before heading home I decided to stop of in Vienna and visit William. Following my swift, dramatic departure at Agen, I changed train at Bordeaux and was on my way to Paris to catch a flight to Vienna. After a mix up on landing times, and me having had no WiFi in the woods at Romy’s house, I was very lucky to be met at the airport by William. We caught the last train back into the city, I stressed him out with my stories of the day and enjoyed the pretty lights of Vienna.

We had a weekend filled with my favourite kind of tourism – slow paced and full of food.

On Friday I had my first lie in in weeks while William was at school before meeting him for lunch. After being cooped up in fast food less Périgueux for the last 7 weeks, a sneaky little McDonald’s was called for! We spent the rest of the afternoon dandering through the city centre, eating ice cream and seeing the sights.

We had some great Italian food for dinner where you told them what you want and they make it in front of you, you can choose your meet, pasta , sauce, anything! We then went to meet Williams friend at the opening of a new pub beside The Hofburg Palace, in the park.

On Saturday we were both feeling sicky so we decided to postpone the sightseeing and spend the day eating snacks and watching Friends (we might have managed to watch all of season 4 over the course of the weekend…). The day turned out to be a bit of a disaster for us, not only did we start it with headaches and colds, William fell out of the bath/shower onto the floor and I slipped TWICE onto my butt on his balcony haha.

At 5 o’clock we decided we better actually leave the house at some stage and headed for PRATER, where we enjoyed the last of the sunshine before meeting the others and going on some of the rides and having dinner. Out disastrous day continued when I got soaked on a ride we didn’t expect to be wet, and William almost died after a spiny, upside down style ride (think experience at Barry’s but more spinning and long periods of time upside down) and we had to lie on the grass for half an hour as he recovered haha.

Sunday was a much more successful day in that it was injury free and we saw the rest of the tourist sights of Vienna. We made ourselves some pancakes for breakfast before setting of to spend the afternoon at Schönbrunn Palace, it’s like the Austrian version of Versailles, but slightly smaller. the sun made an appearance and we relaxed on the hill taking in the views.

When we were done at Schönbrunn we made our way back into the city centre to get some ice cream and see the last of what William had to show me. We dandered around the streets, ate ice cream and avoided the abundance of tourists. Our last stop for the day was Hundertwasserhaus, a crazy building painted all sorts of colours with trees growing inside and all over. I actually think that this was one of my favourite sights of the city! It was so quirky and different and not over run by tourists which is always a bonus!

We made ourselves dinner at Williams, enjoyed homemade apple straddle made by one of his flat mates and relaxed for the evening by watching Friends and planning a trip to Lyon in December to see the Fête des lumières!

Leave a comment