Vacances d’hiver ~ Strasbourg

For trip number three of the holidays I caught a flight and a train to meet the Perigueux girls who had been in Portugal the previous week. I had my first bother with the French “validate your ticket” system and managed to land myself a lovely 30 Euro fine for my 10 minute tram journey. Somehow I dont think it is fair that in some cities the validating machine is on the platform, and in others it is on the tram!!

We got the essentials of the day done (eating and buying snacks) before settling ourselves in our lovely apartment for a relaxed evening of tea drinking and movie watching!

On Wednesday we enjoyed a lie in, and great breakfast which has since set a trend of lazy weekend brunches back in perigueux! We set out (at a VERY leisurely pace) to see the sights of Strasbourg, we dandered the streets, seeing the river, palace, cathedral and Petit France. Strasbourg is definitely one of those cities that is just lovely to walk around and appreciate the cute streets and buildings! I loved it and would definitely go back! I also suffered from major bike envy the whole time we were there and now have an uncountable number of bike pictures on my phone. I want them all haha. We enjoyed another lovely home cooked meal before heading out for the evening.

Our sole aim for Thursday was to climb the cathedral tower so we could have a nice view of the city and the mountains. So equipped with snacks for a picnic at the top, Maeve, Meg and I set of to conquer the tower – it was well worth all the stairs!

We had another relaxed evening drinking tea, eating and watching Chicken Run which was unfortunately in French – it was not the same without all the accents! The next morning we bid farewell to Strasbourg, Steff and Neesa and set of on our 8 hour journey back to Perigueux and working (if 12 hours count) life.

Leave a comment